Ag2019 banner logo


The Northern Territory Government is bringing back the Arafura Games to leverage the cultural, economic and social benefits of an international sporting event.

The Arafura Games began as the Arafura Sports Festival in 1991 with 1,500 athletes competing in seven sports. From 1998 it was known as the Arafura Games and was held every two years.

The Arafura Games was a well-developed international multi-sport event that attracted participants from the Asia-Pacific region and beyond, with the 2011 events attracting 1,600 visiting athletes.

The 2019 Edition of the Arafura Games will see Muaythai featuring its first official qualification event for the 2021 World Games. All athletes registered into one of the *qualifying divisions will their chance to book their spot to compete at the TWG2021 with a Gold medal in Darwin.

IFMA Rules & Regulations for the 2019 Arafura Games

*Official World Qualifying Divisions for TWG2021 include:

  • Men's 57kg, 63.5kg, 91kg
  • Women's 57kg, 63.5kg

Oceania Qualifiers (Continental Championships) for the World Games 2021 shall be held in the following divisions. Entries are accepted only from Oceania NFs:

  • Men's 67kg, 75kg
  • Women's 60kg
Show more

No results found Searching... Please enter 1 or more characters Please delete some character The results could not be loaded. Loading more results… Selection too big